Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Memoria Viva

Memoria Viva

"What my grandmother said"


Deborah Meaden The marketing Expert

Publié par Sky's the limit... sur 18 Mars 2009, 15:27pm

Catégories : #Dragon' Den




"I
was always going to run
my own business.

It never entered my head that I was ever going to work for anyone else. When I was 7 years old I set up a flower stall at our gate, stocked with flowers I'd picked from our garden. I soon realised that the location was wrong because everybody was driving the wrong way. So I then moved my stall to our neighbour's gate - much to her disgust! Finding the right location was a vital lesson when it came to holiday parks, so I'm glad I learned it early.

I am a very confident person and I think that confidence is the key of the success. People buy from confident people. Remembering people was a key to my success. In a day I'd probably see a thousand people. I tried to recognise and remember most of them. If I couldn't, I learned to look as if I did. Recognise people and make them feel valued, and they will remember you. The customers needs a reason to choose what you are offering rather than the place next door. It's all about environment. You need to create  a place where people feel confortable. If someone was starting a business I would say. 'Why would the customer choose you?' In the same way, at a job interview, you need to know why the employers should pick you over anyone else.

My next step was to join my parents in running amusement arcades. Again, the focus was on creating a place where people felt confortable and on giving a good service.

Through out my career, I'd been building up a picture of how people wanted to spend their leisure time. When the chance came up to buy a struggling holiday park, I went for it. I was confident that I knew how to improve the holiday parks and provide what people wanted. The location had to be special. We built indor swimming pools, restaurants, clubs, tennis courts and adventure playgrounds because, in this country, the weather is always going to be a problem. By buildings things inside we could extend the holiday season. We managed to keep one of our parks open for 48 weeks, which was a record. In 1999, I sold half my stake in the business in a deal worth £33 million. 

I like to get involved in a project right at the very beginning and enjoy really being able to make a difference. Most of all, I love success and successful people and I get a real buzz out of seeing a business I am involved in succeed.

I think my greatest strengths lie in sales, marketing and understanding people. As a result of this I have invested in a research company, whatever your line of work, it is a key to success. If you are thinking of starting a business, then you need to find out whether there are people wanting to buy that product or use that service. You can find out all the things you need to know quickly and without any hassle. The key is to make sure your research is useful and don't get distracted!

Sales and marketing are not as complex as some people make them seem. You need to think about the customer buying your product or using your service. Work out the types of people that buy your product, Then you need to think about where you could find them and how you can talk to them. It is vital to have a clear idea of your typical customer, and I want to be clear about their age, style, marital status, hobbies, leisure activities, music taste, what newspaper they would read and so on.

You must be confident to be successful, and you must always want to improve. A lot of people think that passion is enough, but it's not- and being passionate too early can be a mistake. At the start you need to be able to take a step back from the project and see if it is working. When I'm making business decisions I can be quite dispassionate. On TV my face is deadpan and, yes, there is a coolness there. I have ever been called an 'Ice Queen', but that must be by somebody who hasn't seen the laughter lines! 

1. Be honest
Investors, employers and anyone worth knowing in life will know when someone is talking rubbish. trying to pull the wool over their eyes is a dangerous game to play. decent people invest in people they trust. Understanding that is your first step to success.

2. Do what you do best the best way you can

3. Make a plan
A step-by-step plan with time scales and milestones is an excellent idea. It is like creating a map to your goals. Think where you want to go, use your knowledge and research.

4. Know your stuff

5. Present yourself well

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article

Archives

Nous sommes sociaux !

Articles récents