Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Memoria Viva

Memoria Viva

"What my grandmother said"


Don H. Barden

Publié par Sky's the limit... sur 14 Mai 2008, 23:05pm

Catégories : #Business

I always look for businesses that make money while I sleep.
He uses whatever is at his disposal to get what he wants. He is the kind of guy who makes his own opportunities. Sometimes, they come by way of strategy, at other time, by fate.

In 1963, he worked at every type of job imaginable: Laborer for a plumbing, shopping clerk, and cafeteria manager.
"While I was working all of those different jobs, I realized that money and power gave you respect in this society. If I was going to control my destiny, I was going to take some risks. 
From that experience, I learned that you must be able to supply customer demand, whether it's a service, a particular product, or in this case, meeting a price point. You have to know what the customer needs or wants and be able to make a quick adjustment.
Bloodied but not defeated, Barden started a public relations firm, which led to what he still describes as "the toughest period of my life"

Then, after a brief exchange with a military, he phoned immediately:
- I heard that you are looking for a new recruitment center."
- Yes, we are, Do you have a building?
- No, but I can find one to accommodate you.
Bingo! It was a perfect exemple of the supply and demand process. I knew exactly what my customer-the military- wanted and I got it. I owned the building and received enough from the lease to make mortgage payments. I was able to rent additionnal space in the building so I was able to show a profit before I sold it. 

In 1995, he purchased a 52 percent stake in the Tucson. Barden is the first to admit that is investment was not based on corporate altruism. The company has been growing at a clip of 30 percent a year.

"This is something for the future," says Barden the politician, playing, as always, to his public.

"Then again, it's not a bad business." That's Barden the entrepreneur talking. Loud and clear. 
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article

Archives

Nous sommes sociaux !

Articles récents